If a landlord believes he/she has the grounds to evict a tenant, the law requires that everyone living in the property must be served with a notice.
If the tenant does not voluntarily move out after the required notice was delivered, the landlord can then legally evict a tenant in the state of Texas.
The most common reason for eviction is the failure of the tenant to pay the agreed upon rent. This kind of case is call “3 day notice to pay the rent” or “Eviction notice” This is fully covered in the Code of Civil Procedure Section 1161 (2)
Briefly, the eviction notice can also cover:·
- Violations of the lease or rental agreement
- Damage to the rental property
- Interferences with other tenants
- Tenant used property for illegal purposes (selling drugs or weapons, for example)
Other written notices of termination include the 30 day, 60 day or 90 day (for Section 8 properties)
- 30 day notices are for month to month rentals and the landlord does not have to state the reason for ending the tenancy.
- 60 day notices are for tenants who have lived in the property for a year or more.
- Section 8 landlords usually need a 90 day notice for eviction.
Texas Landlord/Tenant Law is complex. The different kinds of evictions and forms are confusing. Depending on if you are a landlord or tenant depends on which website to seek additional information,
To find the right Texas attorney for your case, please fill out our free, fast, and confidential form. JDfinder.com is a free California legal matching service that connects you to the expert specific legal counsel that you need. This article is only for educational and marketing purposes and in no way should be considered legal advice. It also does not establish an attorney-client relationship